About University of Mysore

The University of Mysore is one of the oldest Universities in the country, established in the year 1916. The university has been accredited ‘A’ Grade by the National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC) in year 2021. University of Mysore is ranked 33rd(University category) and 54th(overall category)in NIRF 2022. The University has 52 Postgraduate Departments on the Main Campus, Manasagangotri, 3 Postgraduate Centres at Mandya, Hassan and Chamarajanagara. It provides higher education to about 1,30,000 students, of which over 10,000 are Postgraduates (including postgraduate students in affiliated colleges). The University has a separate cell for counselling foreign nationals, a Career Guidance Bureau and a Placement Cell. About 1200 students from 63 countries are pursuing higher studies at this University.

The Vijnana Bhavana is a central instrumentation facility of the University of Mysore and house for major projects like Institution of Excellence (IOE), University with Potential for Excellence (UPE), Centre with Potential for Excellence in a Particular Area (CPEPA) and Department of Science and Technology- Promotion of University Research and Scientific Excellence (DST-PURSE). As a part of disseminating knowledge to society, the University created a publication division called Prasaranga, which has published 2,800 books on topics ranging from philosophy to science. Currently, it brings out newsletters, Gazettes, Vijnana Karnataka, myScience and mySociety journals for science and social science research, in addition to the publication of other works. Mysore University library is one of the oldest and largest University Libraries in the country and has a resource collection of 1.2 million items in its systems. The University’s linkage with many reputed institutions in India and abroad has nurtured multidisciplinary research.

ORI (Oriental Research Institute) and National Centre for History of science are the part of University of Mysore. Committee for Development of Science in Schools (CDSS) was constituted by the University of Mysore to motivate, encourage and empower the younger generation at secondary school level to gain basic scientific knowledge and pursue science education and career in future. The unique facilities on the University campus include UGC's Certified Centre for career-oriented programs on Information Science and Technology, Postgraduate Departments with UGC/SAP/DRS innovative programs, and DST-FIST supported departments.

University is spread over 800 acres in a serene, green and plastic free campus. Kukkarahalli Lake and the heritage Jayalakshmi Vilas Mansion are also on the campus.