University of Mysore


Indian Society for Radiation Physics (ISRP)

University of Mysore

The University of Mysore is one of the oldest Universities in the country, established in the year 1916. The university has been accredited ‘A’ Grade by the National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC) in year 2021. University of Mysore is ranked 33rd(University category) and 54th(overall category)in NIRF 2022. The University has 52 Postgraduate Departments on the Main Campus, Manasagangotri, 3 Postgraduate Centres at Mandya, Hassan and Chamarajanagara. It provides higher education to about 1,30,000 students, of which over 10,000 are Postgraduates (including postgraduate students in affiliated colleges). The University has a separate cell for counselling foreign nationals, a Career Guidance Bureau and a Placement Cell. About 1200 students from 63 countries are pursuing higher studies at this University.

The Vijnana Bhavana is a central instrumentation facility of the University of Mysore and house for major projects like Institution of Excellence (IOE), University with Potential for Excellence (UPE), Centre with Potential for Excellence in a Particular Area (CPEPA) and Department of Science and Technology- Promotion of University Research and Scientific Excellence (DST-PURSE). As a part of disseminating knowledge to society, the University created a publication division called Prasaranga, which has published 2,800 books on topics ranging from philosophy to science. Currently, it brings out newsletters, Gazettes, Vijnana Karnataka, myScience and mySociety journals for science and social science research, in addition to the publication of other works. Mysore University library is one of the oldest and largest University Libraries in the country and has a resource collection of 1.2 million items in its systems. The University’s linkage with many reputed institutions in India and abroad has nurtured multidisciplinary research.

ORI (Oriental Research Institute) and National Centre for History of science are the part of University of Mysore. Committee for Development of Science in Schools (CDSS) was constituted by the University of Mysore to motivate, encourage and empower the younger generation at secondary school level to gain basic scientific knowledge and pursue science education and career in future. The unique facilities on the University campus include UGC's Certified Centre for career-oriented programs on Information Science and Technology, Postgraduate Departments with UGC/SAP/DRS innovative programs, and DST-FIST supported departments.

University is spread over 800 acres in a serene, green and plastic free campus. Kukkarahalli Lake and the heritage Jayalakshmi Vilas Mansion are also on the campus.

Department of Studies in Physics

The department was established in the year 1960 in the Manasagangotri campus of the Mysore University. Beginning as a small department under the chairmanship of Dr. Sivaramakrishna Chandrasekhar offering M.Sc. course in one special subject spectroscopy. Today it has grown into one of the largest departments on the campus offering both Master's and Doctoral programs covering one or more aspects of physics. The department is also equipped with a telescope observatory.

The department offers a 4 semester Master's program under FCBCS and also PhD Program.


The Indian Society for Radiation Physics (ISRP) was formed with a primary objective of providing a common forum to the Scientists and Engineers working on different basic as well as applied aspects of ionizing radiation. The idea of forming ISRP was during the National Symposium on Radiation Physics held in Mumbai in 1970 under the inspiring leadership of late Dr. A. K. Ganguly. The memorandum of constituting ISRP was issued in July 1973 and registered in 1992 (Reg No. BOM/83/1992/GBBSD, F-15216).The ISRP was formally inaugurated by Late Dr. Raja Ramanna during the 2nd National Symposium on Radiation Physics held at University of Mysorein June 10, 1976.

Scientists and Engineers from national laboratories, research scholars and academicians from universities and institutions of higher education and professionals from industry are the members of ISRP. National Symposium on Radiation Physics is conducted once in two years.

To facilitate the nationwide activities in the field of radiation physics, many chapters of ISRP have been formed. These include the chapters at Mumbai, Kalpakkam, Patiala, Kolkata, Mysore, Mangalore, Coimbatore, Dharwad and Hyderabad. ISRP launched publishing newsletters, popular brochures and technical reviews on various aspects of ionizing radiation. The list of publications include ‘Ionizing Radiation for Non-Destructive Evaluation’. ‘Safety of Nuclear Power Reactors’, ‘Isotope Tracer Applications in Industry and Civil Engineering’ , ‘Solid State Nuclear Track Detection: Theory and applications’ and ‘Monte Carlo: Basics’. Under ISRP educational program lecture series, quiz contests related to Radiation Physics and its applications are conducted in schools and colleges.

ISRP has been holding a series of biennial conferences, in collaboration with universities and colleges, to provide a platform for the scientists, young researchers and students of Radiation Physics to share their work, knowledge and observations with each other. The previous symposium – NSRP 22 with the theme “Recent Developments in Radiation Physics Research” was held at the Department of Physics, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi during November 8-10, 2019. The 23rd NSRP focuses on the theme “Innovations in Radiation Physics” and will be held during Jan 19- 21, 2023 at Mysuru.